Fix: Instagram Inauthentic Engagement Notification

So, Instagram has sent you a notification that looks like this:

Instagram inauthentic engagement notification

Specifically, it says that Instagram is removing your inauthentic likes and follows. It also says that they think you have shared your password and username with a third-party app that offers likes or followers.

They say that they are removing this engagement in order to protect their community against inauthentic activity, to stop them from gaining access to your account and information.

What to do When You Get Instagram’s Inauthentic Engagement Notification

Let’s take a look at why you may have received this, and what you can do about it.

1. Check Out Facebook’s Article

The first thing you need to do is check out Facebook’s article about this here:

https://research.fb.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Following-Their-Footsteps-Characterizing-Account-Automation-Abuse-and-Defenses.pdf

In this document, you will see that Facebook talks about how Instagram is attempting to stop users from outsourcing their engagement to a third party. Of course, they are well within their rights to do this. This is because there are a lot of people out there who abuse the use of third-party apps, for terrible things like selling drugs and bullying.

So, while you typically don’t see this kind of thing out in the open on the gram, it does happen, and it’s something that Instagram is dealing with all the time.

The last thing Instagram wants to do is deal with a lawsuit for having categories like this on its app, which is why they work so hard to eradicate them. However, they also know that there are a lot of regular users out there who use social automation services to grow their engagement.

The majority of these users are uploading high-quality content, and are therefore providing value to their community, as well as generating more revenue for Instagram itself. You probably already know how hard it is to grow your Instagram account manually. Automation can make it a lot easier to do those day to day tasks so that you can have more time on your side to create high-quality content.

If automation was removed completely, then a lot of people would quit Instagram – they wouldn’t be able to grow their profiles sufficiently. Of course, Instagram would also suffer, as they would lose a lot of ad revenue.In the document, Instagram mentions that the majority of users shouldn’t be blocked, even when they use third party automation. They don’t see much merit in this, which is why they’re moving more toward removing actions and engagement.

So, while Instagram does frown upon Instagram automation, and would prefer it didn’t exist, it does understand why legitimate users do it. They don’t want to ban accounts like this, as these users, in particular, add a lot of value to the app as a whole.

This is why Instagram will block activity and defer actions.

2. Instagram Can Block Out a Lot

Sometimes, Instagram has issues of its own. As an app that is ever-evolving, it actually comes up against a lot of issues.

This means that people who don’t even outsource their engagement to an automation provider can also experience notifications like this. This is a good reminder that it’s not just you that’s having to deal with this – it’s actually pretty common.

3. Stop Using Companies That Deliver Followers and Likes

If you’ve developed a habit of buying your followers and likes, we highly recommend that you stop. This is because buying your engagement isn’t going to help your account advance in any way. In fact, it’s going to hinder its growth, and could even potentially ruin your reputation.

Fake engagement is only going to make your engagement rate worse because fake followers don’t actually interact with your content. They just make up a number on your follower count.

This is why it’s important not to buy your engagement, and if you have in the past, make sure not to do it again. This is what is called blackhat growth, and it’s also going to put your account at risk of being suspended or banned by Instagram, too.

4. Change Your Password

Change Password

If this is the first time you have received this notification, then we recommend changing your password. This is one of the most effective ways to get it to go away. With this in mind, if you get the same notification again, don’t change your password. If you do, you’re indicating to Instagram that you do outsource your engagement to a third party.

If you get the notification again, simply close it and don’t acknowledge it. There are a lot of legitimate notifications that Instagram puts out, but there are a lot of bugs too, so if you get it more than once, then there’s a good chance that it’s a bug.

5. Adjust Your Automation

Another thing that you can do is adjust your automation activity for a few days. Once you’ve done this and Instagram has forgotten about your account, we suggest switching up your daily limits too, limiting them to just 25-30 follows, likes, and unfollows a day.

This way, you can slowly build back up to your normal daily limits, as Instagram grows more trust in your profile.

Also consider changing automation provider. Here are the best tools on the market:

RankGrowth ServiceRating 
1Stellation Media
2Upleap Check Price
3ektor.io Check Price
PRO TIP: You should use Hashtags for Likes with any of the services above to turbocharge your engagement levels with trending hashtags
Hashtags for Likes

6. Upgrade Your Proxy

If you’re using an Instagram proxy with your automation tool, then it’s worth changing up providers.

The last thing you want to do if you’ve received this Instagram notification is stick to the same proxy. If you do, it’s going to be really easy for Instagram to track your activity again, which is going to lead down the same path.

We recommend you check out SmartProxy as a great alternative to the one you already use. Both of these companies have great reputations in the industry, along with affordable prices that can accommodate for all different kinds of budgets.

Warning: Your Personal Details Are Visible


Your IP: 3.235.74.77
Country: United States
Region: VA
City: Ashburn
Latitude: 39.0438
Longitude: -77.4874
Timezone: America/New_York
ISP: Amazon Technologies Inc.

Scary, Right?

This is your personal data that ANYONE can view.

The only way to protect yourself fully is with a VPN. A proxy can provide some protection, but a VPN is a more complete solution and will ensure your privacy.

We recommend this VPN, or this proxy.

Final Thoughts on Inauthentic Engagement Notifications

It’s pretty annoying when Instagram gets in contact with you with a notification like this. Fortunately, though, there are plenty of things you can do about it. It all comes down to being careful, making sure that you’re using the right automation provider, and going with a high-quality proxy company too.

With all of this, you’ll give yourself a great chance of staying off Instagram’s radar, and safely being able to grow your Instagram account automatically.

Leave a Comment

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Good Post? Share it!

If you liked this post, share it on Twitter or Facebook to keep the conversation going.